Weekly Schedule
Oline Sports Schedule Button
Email Updates

Athletic Director

Bronco Logo
You Make the Call - Back Court Violation, or NOT?

Posted Thursday, January 31, 2019


This week, MHSAA officials coordinator Sam Davis explains an often misunderstood backcourt/frontcourt basketball scenario. 

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Backcourt Violation? - Listen

Let’s test your knowledge of high school basketball rules with this you make the call:

During a jump ball, a throw-in or while on defense, a player jumps from the forecourt, secures control of the ball with both feet in the air, and returns to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. You make the call.

Is this a backcourt violation or does play continue? In this situation, a player may make a normal landing on the floor without regard to where his or her feet come down. It makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt. There is no backcourt – or what some would call an over-and-back – violation, and play continues with a fresh 10-second count applied if necessary to advance the ball into the frontcourt.